Kings Canyon

This past week, my class and I went to Kings Canyon. Kings Canyon is a national park in the southern Sierra Nevada, east of Fresno, California.

It takes about 6 hours to get there by bus. Surprisingly, the drive didn’t seem that long to me. That could be because I am used to long car rides with drives to water polo tournaments, or it could maybe just be because the bus had wifi so I was able to watch The Office the whole ride down.

After driving for about five hours, we got off the freeway and started driving up a mountain towards our destination. This last part of the drive was beautiful. The rode we were driving up looked like a mix between farren and gibraltar road, it was awesome. The grass was unbelievably green, and we even drove past some cows!

I was so relieved when we finally reached our destination. There was snow on the ground and the air was crisp, it was so much different than back at home.

This trip wasn’t very organized, but that was kind of a good thing. We got to go off and do our own thing. In our free time, we got to go explore the area however we wanted.

During my free time, I decided to snowboard. This was my second time ever in the know, and I had only snowboarded once before so I wasn’t any good. It was fun to learn how to do it again, tons of my guy friends are super good snowboarders and they taught me how. After a while, I decided to stop snowboarding and just take pictures of them. The boys made a little jump for them to go of off of so it was super entertaining to watch. It was kind of funny because they can do back-flips or cool tricks off the jump, while I  was just trying to make it down the hill without falling.

 

Another thing we did on the trip was go on some amazing hikes. We had to trek through the snow, which was difficult for me because I only had addidas and didn’t bring snow boots, so each step I took my feet sunk knee deep. Besides that, the hikes were awesome. We got to explore different areas of where we were staying and see a different side of the mountain. 

I liked experiencing something new, it made me think about how many places there are in the world for me to explore.This trip helped put a lot in perspective for me. It made me more grateful, and made me realize how lucky I am to be able to go to such a beautiful place.

I cannot wait for my next adventure. Comment suggestions of places you love to go to that I should go visit!

Thanks, J

Leave a Reply

