Tangerine Falls

This past weekend, my friend Levi and I headed up to Tangerine Falls.

Tangerine Falls is a moderately hard hike located in the Los Padres National Forest. It is close to 3 miles round trip. It involves climbing, rock hopping, and a giant 100 ft waterfall at the end!

img_9568

It was a Sunday afternoon, we were bored and didn’t know what to do. It had been raining all weekend so we hadn’t really done much besides sit inside all day. On Friday and Saturday it had been raining insanely hard, but Sunday it began to clear up, still sprinkling a bit throughout the day. So we decided we should go on a hike.

The hike was much harder than it would have normally been. Because of all the fallen rain from the previous day,  there was a ton of obstacles we had to avoid. We had to climb over fallen trees, walk through a heavily flowing river, and go along a mountain side that had falling rocks!

At the beginning of the hike, I was not into it at all. I am an average hiker, I will do it but it’s not my favorite activity. So when we got there, I was definitely not expecting what was about to come. Within the first 5 minutes, we had to climb through a deep creek to get to the other side of the mountain, jump over rocks, and try not to slip into all of the mud that was on the ground. I don’t think I realized I was going to get super muddy and wet on the hike, so that is why at first I was not enjoying it. But after hiking for a little, I started to embrace what was coming and just enjoyed myself and appreciated the hike.

img_9562

It was beautiful. The view while climbing was awesome. The day was foggy and rainy but it still made it a great time. After going through all the obstacles, we finally made it to the gigantic waterfall! This is what made the difficulty all worth it. The waterfall was flowing, and it was amazing. We sat and watched it for a little then decided to head back because it was going to get dark soon, and we also had just witnessed a giant rock tumble down the mountain side where we had to hike back, and did not want that to happen to us

img_9561
Not the big waterfall, but a miniature one we passed on the way.

I started the hike on a bad note, but ended it better than I could have ever imagined! I would definitely recommend this hike to anyone, rain or shine! But if it is raining, be prepared to get wet!

I cannot wait for my next adventure. Comment suggestions of places you love to go to that I should go visit!

Thanks, J

 

Leave a Reply

